• April 23, 2018 at 3:47 pm #3210
    Nico Zwaneveld
    Participant

Hi everyone,

I am Nico, 57 yrs young, and I am from The Netherlands (an hours drive from Amsterdam, and currently in a countryside with fields filled with magnificent Tulips).

I am a beginner with the guitar. I have been working as a sound engineer in my free time for over 20 years during performances of bands and choirs that I have known for many years. These live performances with at least two people playing guitar have finally ignited a fire in me to learn to play the guitar, and this is me actioning on it. I bought a Taylor 414CE for two reasons… 1. the friends that I work with all play Taylor guitars. 2. I know that I need to have some serious skin in the game in order to reach goals, and buying a Taylor guitar requires a real commitment. 🙂

My near future goal is to play guitar while singing a song during the church service for my wedding. I want to get out of my comfort zone for this occasion, and singing a love song for my bride in a full church seriously meets the definition of getting out of my comfort zone.

My struggles are currently with getting my fingers into the right chord positions without interrupting the song, and with strumming in general. I have not yet developed the right way to strum with my thumb… I know that I am doing it wrong, and my fingers seem to “hook” a string during the strum, making that one string sound hard.

After the wedding, I just want to play for myself, family, and be able to jam along during the jam sessions that we have every summer with friends (15 – 25 people playing guitar, having fun and enjoying a great BBQ/Garden party).

April 23, 2018 at 6:17 pm #3211
    Jonathan
    Keymaster

Hey Nico, great to hear your story. Tulips are my wife’s favorite flower. She’d love to see that field.

Great guitar! That’s the same model Taylor I use. I’ve had it for 15 years.