• May 17, 2018 at 6:49 pm #3449
    Rich Mathers
    Participant

Hi everyone,

My name is Rich Mathers and I live in NJ. I will soon be 57 and  live by the Jersey shore, so summer time is a busy time for me. I have been playing guitar off and on for a few years and seem to get frustrated when I get in a groove, attempt to get to the next level and then I stop. I started out with private lessons and it didn’t work out. It seemed like my instructor got bored with me sometimes when I didn’t learn a song within a week, we all are busy and I felt if I didn’t practice 2 hours a night which is hard in the real world, then my lessons became more stressful than fun, that’s when i left the private lessons.

I have been doing Jonathan’s lessons for a while and have enjoyed them at my own pace, it’s fun to meet people here in the group and see their progress (Ann Hepner you are amazing). I am excited to get back on track and will start from the beginning just to catch up, I will mention a few stumbling blocks that I need to work through. I have too many people ask me to play and I kind of shy off, so it’s time to get back playing

Here are/were some of my stumbling blocks that I wanted to pass onto you. These may be forum questions but for starters, I’ll just mention them here and then explore the forums and add this into them.

Strumming patterns, chord selection (C vs Cadd9) etc

Well I’m back and look forward to hear and share with everyone!

May 17, 2018 at 8:26 pm #3454
    Jonathan
    Keymaster

Hey Rich, so glad to have you back in the swing of things.

Is there anything in particular about strumming that you’re still struggling with? If you can make it to the next live class that would be great, so you can explain visually. We do them now every week, and I announce on Monday the day and time.