• April 10, 2018 at 6:18 pm #2962
    Cheryl Davidson
    Participant

Your name and where you’re from.

• Cheryl Davidson from West Virginia

Your experience with the guitar.

I purchased my used poor beat up little guitar when I graduated high school.  I was very interested, but did not have the funds for a professional teacher.  I put the guitar back in its case, and my desire on the back burner so I could go to work and earn money for college.  It is understandable when you spend a full day of work, then school, then homework, and fall in bed tired, try to sleep a little so you can get up the next day and do it all again.  Many years pass.  I get married, and my husband finds my guitar.  He is interested too, and tries, but is not successful (primarily because he is left handed dominate and cannot transmute the finger positions like Jimmi Hendrix.  But that is my husband’s story…)  So my journey resumes and awakens those interests I had put away.  I found Jonathan Reaux’s website, and became curious to see if I really could learn.  I want to have fun with it, be entertaining and festive, and joyful when I play.  I don’t want an extremely competitive environment, nor a bully beating session with aggressive players.  I want the creative and expressive transition of the artistic energy within me to travel through my hands; into the strings and wood to become the musical voice I have never been able to accomplish thus far.

Your greatest struggles with the guitar.

Struggle #1:  My pinky finger is my weakest link.  I am not sure the best way to describe it, other than it doesn’t stay in position.  I am working on control and strength in it.  Struggle #2:  Juggling in my mind the fact that you have to know where your fingers are, where they need to go, in the correct time and rhythm, with the right amount of tension, and then sing in the correct tune, with the correct time and rhythm, with the right amount of volume……..Summary: I have to learn how to multitask.